Tags

, , ,

GO AMERICA! What a victory! On a country that prides ourselves on being the land of the free, this should have happened a long time ago, but we are finally catching up to our own Constitution.

Today at 10:04am, the Supreme Court ruled in favor of same-sex marriage in all 50 states. #LoveWins

Until today, each state had jurisdiction over who could marry who. For a solid chunk of states who have a hard time separating church and state, same-sex marriage was not permitted because the Bible says that holy matrimony is only between “a man and woman.” You can imagine what kind of discrimination happens in the states where the government does not see all love equally.

When I opened Facebook and twitter after the decision, I was ecstatic to see that I did not come across any negative comments, only celebrations. I have intelligent people in my life, or I am just really good at purging my Facebook friends. However, I did see an article where people who are disappointed in this decision write “I’m moving to Canada.” HAHAHA Same-sex marriage has been legal in Canada for ten years.

The federal government has been putting off making this decision for a while, but finally came down to 5 in favor, 4 not in favor.

This is a huge deal to Americans. We consider ourselves progressive, but lately there are still Confederate flags flying across the South and we can buy semi-automatic rifles at Wal-Mart. But I should not complain. Because today, we made some progress! #LoveWins

20 countries have legalized gay marriage (Quartz). We are now one of them. It was the right thing to do. We are as progressive as Spain and Sweden, and hopefully one day as Ireland, the first country to legalize same-sex marriage by popular vote.

