Tags

, , , ,

Day 4: Monday May 28, 2012

We woke up around 8am only for me to be cranky enough to make us stay in bed until 8:20am, throwing off my perfect plan to see everything we have not been able to today.

With my frustration being thrown at a scared Lucas, we made our way to the Ancient Agora and walked around the enormous archeological site there. After, we headed to the Temple of Zeus, which was not as massive, but just as impressive in its ruins.

Later, we caught the tram down to the coast and sunbathed for a few hours. (Finally found the beach! It is not at Piraeus Port, but take the tram all the way to the Terminus at Coastal avenue.)

Then we made it to the National Archeological Museum, and had dinner outside of it with a swarm of pigeons. The Museum was impressive, but I much preferred the New Acropolis Museum–the history in Greece is so rich and teeming with artifacts that so many little pieces can be overwhelming.

Day 5: Tuesday, May 29, 2012

This morning we packed our stuff and checked out of the Bed and Breakfast, to our hosts’ surprise, although there was really no reason for them to be surprised. We went down to the Matrisiki Square for souvenir shopping at the Athens Flea market and the adjacent tourist streets selling everything from shoes and shirts to mugs and jewelry.

For breakfast, I had a Greek donut, which is basically bread in the shape of a large O with sugar coated on it, as well as some of the iced coffee that the Greeks are obsessed with.

For my father I got a t-shirt with his name in Greek on the back, my mother a statue of Athena, a necklace with her name in Greek and a pillbox with the acropolis shining on the outside.

For a snack later in the day, Lucas and I ordered stuffed wine leaves, which are leaves stuffed with minced meat, rice and then dipped in sour cream. This is the food I had been waiting to try all week–except I did not know the name until now!

Then we had a run in with a guy at a t-shirt selling shop who asked where we were form, and when Lucas quickly answered “Canada” and tried to run off, the guy said “I love Canada!” and dragged us into his store to tell us about how much he loves Canada and how he lived in British Columbia, then telling me how his cousin owns a Greek restaurant in Savannah GA when he found that I am from Atlanta. He kept pinching our cheeks (literally) and saying how sweet I was and what a “handsome boy” Lucas was. He kept saying “Ya know I don’t understand people when they say they don’t like Americans, I mean who do you like? The Russians?”

We escaped after he gave us each a one cent coin for good luck.

