Tags

, , ,

This Saturday, I had the chance to visit the oldest Abby in Switzerland, complete with monks! The Abby itself was freezing inside because it was built over a river during Roman times so that they could make sacrifices.

This Abby has been around forever–and it is still being used. I love that history thrives so much in Europe, it is so present in everyday life and it is amazing how much we take it for granted.

I have been here a little over a month now and I find that I am starting to pass by things that are outrageously beautiful, but I see it everyday, so I don’t even think about it anymore.

Here are pictures of the small city of St. Maurice and the Abby. I wish I could show you the smells of old rock, the cold floor burning through your shoes from the river that flows under, the pure feeling of exploring something that holds so many secrets and stories, the extreme exhilaration of knowing really how old this place is.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

