Tags

, , , ,

Summer is officially over in Lausanne, and I am nostalgic for the sun and beach weather of last week. This week, drizzles of rain and playful cold weather came crashing in and white, thick snow caps the mountains while the gray clouds hang low, hugging the sides of the mountains and hovering over the lake.

This weekend I had planned to go to Evian-les-bains, France on Saturday then hiking through Dôle, Switzerland on Sunday, but both were willfully cancelled due to the miserable weather.

But one of the best things about being an exchange student is that I get to know so many other exchange students from around the world to do tourist attractions with or pass the time in miserable weather.

Of course, one of the things that all cultures value is FOOD! On weekends like this when our fast paced tourist life must come to a halt, everyone tries new recipes and new restaurants. This is one of my favorite parts about being on exchange–trying food from around the globe, with no idea how to make it! Mongolian dumplings, noodles, Miso soup, seaweed, spaghetti, and the oddest–a Raclette burger at McDonald’s, are all just the foods I can name since I have been here.

And now I pay an homage to the wonderful ladies I have made friends with: something that translates across all our cultures is shopping! We made it to Ikea, an outlet store full of designers that I could never afford in real life, and of course, H&M.

All I can think is “Is it October already?” It feels like I have been here a week, but it has really been a month.

