Tags

, , , ,

Today was stressful, exciting, confusing and fun–can you name it? The first day of school!

I woke up early to get to the UNIL by 8:15am, only to find out that I didn’t have class until tomorrow at that time. This week, I get to visit classes and see which I want to take, but I am definitely enrolled in a 12 hour per week French Langue écrite et orale course, which will help me build the language, and a Spanish class for complete beginners.

Spanish was the only class I had today, and as it was for beginners, she explained everything in French–my mind was working so fast that I needed a siesta (favorite Spanish word) after that hour and a half. Luckily, today we just learned phrases that I already knew from watching movies. “Me llamo Raquel…y tú?…uhh, je suis…ugh me llamo Clothilde…” Learning a third language really exercises my mind and I can’t wait to go back.

After a while though, no one knew what our Spanish teacher was talking about because she spoke French with a Chilean accent and would randomly throw Spanish words in her sentences. Unfortunately for me, she always called on me first to speak whatever phrase we just learned, and when I would say it wrong, she would think I didn’t understand because I spoke English. I understood, but the person that gets called on first almost always gets it wrong and the teacher has to explain it again, and then the rest of the class is thankful that it wasn’t them, and adores you for “taking one for the team.”

After a long day, Tessa, Anna, and I went to a hip hop dance class. It was such a workout! And the teacher played American rap music and obviously didn’t understand the lyrics, because it was the most racist, graphic rap song I have ever heard in any language. I asked my Anna, who’s mother tongue is Italian, if she noticed how bad the lyrics were and she had no idea what they were saying. It was an odd experience–I could clearly hear the phrases, but no one else reacted.

Then we went to a welcome Raclette! Raclette is a famous Swiss dish that they make by taking a wheel of cheese and burning it, the scraping the melting cheese over potatoes, onions, and pickles, and the cheese hardens over the food and you enjoy it with wine or tea.

Unfortunately, I had a coke with it–bad idea for such heavy food! Actually, a Swiss guy named Jean-Baptiste scolded me for drinking coke with Raclette, saying that I will be sick tonight.

